New officers elected to Portsmouth Democratic Town Committee

During its organizational meeting, the Portsmouth Democratic Town Committee elected a new slate of officers for the 2011-2013 term, according to a statement released by the committee. The new officers are Chair Leonard Katzman, Vice-Chair Marge Levesque, Treasurer Charles Levesque, and Secretary John McDaid.

“The Town of Portsmouth faces many challenges and the Democratic Party will continue to play an integral role in Portsmouth government," said Chair Katzman in remarks distributed to the media. "We are fortunate to have so many talented individuals who are committed to improving the quality of life in Portsmouth through their service on the Democratic Town Committee.”

Katzman, who served two terms on the Portsmouth Town Council, is in his second full term as chair. Incoming Vice-Chair Marge Levesque is a veteran of 14 years on the Portsmouth School Committee. Chuck Levesque, continuing his service as treasurer, has served as the Senator for District 11, state representative, and on the Town Council. McDaid, who runs a Portsmouth news blog, was a candidate for School Committee in 2010.

The Portsmouth Democratic Town Committee is a nonprofit association established to uphold and to advance the principles of the Democratic Party within the Town of Portsmouth. The primary goal of the Town Committee is the election and appointment of qualified Democrats to offices, commissions, committees and boards in the Town of Portsmouth, the State of Rhode Island and the United States of America.

The Committee is responsible for the endorsement and the support of a slate of Democratic candidates for the Town Council and School Committee. The Democratic Town Committee also strives to communicate to all residents of the Town of Portsmouth the principles of the Democratic Party.

Editorial note and disclosure: It may be blindingly obvious, but this is written from a press release by the committee of which I am a member.